CANTERBURY REFEREES ASSOCIATION
NEWSLETTER NO 3
Hi again everybody. Winter golf is now in force and everybody will find that there is less run on the
fairways. However, keep warm and enjoy swinging that golf club. Here are some items of interest for
you to consider.
The AGM was held recently and a new committee was elected. Rosemary Parker is the President,
Jenny Tilson, treasurer, Bruce Grant, secretary and Anthony Alberts, referee convenor. In addition the
committee has Chris Zanchetta, Markham Lee, Hyeza Kim and Kevin Gwatkin. Thanks were given
to the outgoing members of the committee namely Owen Tough and Hank Holt. However they will
still be seen around the golf courses refereeing.
Ground under repair ( GUR ): Under the definition, this might be either marked or unmarked.
Players need to aware of what is GUR if they wish to take advantage of any permitted free relief.
Check for on-course markings, as well as local rules, but some things are deemed GUR , even if not
so marked or identified e.g.
• Any hole made by the committee or course staff e.g. hole where stake has been removed, an
alternate hole on a green, or holes made in removing turf tree stump or laying pipelines.
• Natural material piled for removal
• Any close animal habitat ( such as a birds nest) that might be damaged by stroke or stance
Here are some applications of these rules( in the absence of specific local rules):
a) Any growing natural object rooted in the GUR, is considered part of the GUR, and includes
part of it hanging outside the GUR, but nothing rooted outside the GUR is considered part of
it , even if hanging over it
b) Aeration holes are not GUR
c) Materials left on the course in piles, that are not intended to be removed, are not GUR
d) Ruts caused by tractor are not GUR
e) An old hole plug that has sunk below the putting green surface is not GUR
f) A broken tree or branch that is still attached to the tree stump is not GUR
Relief ( one club-length or two ? ): When taking relief ( either free or penalty) , it is important to
know whether you can drop within two club-lengths of the reference point or only one. If you take too
much you will be penalised for playing from the wrong place, but if you take less than you can, you
may be disadvantaging yourself unnecessarily.
In general, the rule of thumb is two lengths for penalty relief but only one for free relief.
However, while there is no two club free relief, there are some situations of penalty relief where you
are only permitted to take one club-length relief from the reference point, for the drop.
For example :
• When taking a stroke and distance relief i.e. taking a penalty stroke and going back to play
from the spot where you played the previous shot. This will apply not only for a ball that is
lost or OB, but also for taking the option voluntarily
• When taking Back-on-the-line relief ( i.e. on a direct line from the flag going through the
point where your ball is, and as far back as you like). This could be from a red or yellow
penalty area, as an option for an unplayable ball, or electing to take relief from an abnormal
course condition in a bunker by choosing to take the drop outside that bunker, rather than
taking free relief in the bunker.
Match play Foursomes ( alternate shots)
The match of the day was Matchplay Foursomes. Two
holes on the course were closed for repairs and the order in
which the holes were to be played was changed. The new
order was displayed at the clubhouse as shown on the right.
Golfer A was wondering how Rule 22.3(playing alternate
shots) applied. She was teeing off on the even holes and her
partner the odd holes. They were alternating the teeing off.
Who should tee off on hole 12?
Answer: The actual hole numbers are disregarded and the order that the holes are played in becomes
the “hole” numbers. Therefore the “odd” holes are 1, 3, 12, 14, 7, 11, 9 & 17.
1. Which is true regarding a ball at rest on the fringe of the putting green?
A. If the player causes the ball to move, the player is always responsible.
B. If the player causes the ball to move but is unaware of the movement, the player is
not responsible for the movement.
C. If the player causes the ball to move but is unaware of the movement, there are
situations where the player is not responsible for the movement.
2. In which of the following situations does the player get a penalty of disqualification
for making a stroke with a non-conforming club?
A. A player makes a stroke with a club that he or she has applied any substance to
the clubhead (other than cleaning it) to affect how it performs in making a stroke
and the stroke counts in the player’s score.
B. A player makes a stroke with a non-conforming club at a provisional ball, but the
ball never becomes the ball in play.
C. The player used a non-conforming club to make a cancelled stroke.
3. In taking a stance for the stroke, which action is the player allowed to execute?
A. When the player’s ball lies in a bunker, knocking down sand on the side of the
bunker with a foot to create a level area to stand on.
B. Excessively digging feet into soft ground to gain a firmer foundation for the stance.
C. Removing loose impediments from the area of intended stance, such as removing
large amounts of pine needles or leaves.
4. In a Four-Ball match, side A-B is playing side C-D, with the two players on
each side sharing a caddie. The caddie shared by A and B, accidentally moves the ball of
C that lay at rest in the fairway. What is the ruling?
A. There is no penalty.
B. Both A and B get a penalty of one stroke.
C. Either A or B gets a penalty of one stroke; which individual must be decided by lot.
1. A. Rule 9.2a/2
2. A. Rule 4.1a(1)/2
3. C. Rule 8.1a/6
4. B. Rule 23.5a/1
Happy golfing everyone
Canterbury Golf Referees Association