Follow us on:
Templeton Banner Templeton Golf Club Find out more
Back to About Us


Woodward Cup interclub team match-play competition played for the first time and it remains Canterbury's premier club championship. Russley was the inaugural winner but Christchurch, with 23 wins, is the most successful over all.

The Canterbury Golf Assciation was formed. The Association was first known as the Christchurch Metropolitan Golf Association.  Delegates from 12 clubs (Avondale, Charteris Bay, Christchurch, Diamond Harbour, Kaiapoi, Rangiora, Rawhiti, Richmond Hill, Russley, Templeton, Waimairi Beach, and Waitikiri) met and mooted the formation of the Christchurch Metropolitan Golf Association.

Blank Cup was started as an interclub competition.

The Canterbury Provincial Golf Association replaced the Christchurch Metropolitan Golf Association as the ruling body of golf in the province.

Tim Woon (Waitikiri) wins the New Zealand amateur championship, a title he retained the next year.

First Interprovincial Team Tournament played at Shirley between February 28 and March 2.

Sir Bob Charles caused a sensation on November 8 1954 when as an 18 year old amateur he beat a top international field to win the New Zealand Open at Heretaunga.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s inter-provincial team match-play championship (then Freyberg Rose Bowl) for the first time at Gisborne. The winning team comprised Colin Caldwell, Bob Charles, Ron Clements, Keith Foxton, Gary Scott, and Murray Stanley.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s inter-provincial team match-play championship.

Sir Bob Charles becomes the first New Zealanader to win a major championship with his British Open victory at Royal Lytham and St. Annes.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team match-play championship.

Woodward Cup reverts to a team stroke-play competition for the first and only time. Russley, which had won the cup the previous five years, prevailed again and went on to establish a record nine successive titles.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team matchplay championship.

Canterbury Golfer of the Year and Vardon Trophy awards presented for the first time with Simon Robinson (Christchurch) and John Williamson (Christchurch) the respective winners.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team matchplay championship.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team matchplay championship.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team matchplay championship.

Tony Christie (Waitikiri) becomes the first Canterbury golfer to take the New Zealand 72-hole stroke-play championship when he beats Grant Moorhead (New Plymouth) in a play-off at Taupo.

World amateur team championships for the Eisenhower Trophy (men) and Espirito Santo (women) are held in Christchurch, at Shirley and Russley, respectively, with former Canterbury No. 1 Brent Paterson (Coringa) a member of the New Zealand team which finished equal second with the United States (whose team included Phil Mickelson & David Duval) behind Sweden.

Mark Street (Russley), after representing Canterbury for 12 years, bows out of the New Zealand interprovincial team matchplay championship with a record 89 matches and 48 wins.

Andrew Hobbs (Windsor) claims the Canterbury matchplay championship 20 years after his father, Fin, had won the same crown.

A 47-year drought ends for Canterbury when Chris Johns (Christchurch) wins the national match-play championship at Harewood.

Canterbury wins the New Zealand men’s interprovincial team matchplay championship.

Karl Kitchingham (Christchurch) claims the New Zealand 72-hole stroke-play championship title at Paraparaumu.

Canterbury wins the Tower National Inter-Provincial Championship. The Team was Eddie Lee, Issac Randell, Andrew Hobbs, Tim Evett, and Jay Davies. Bob Pirie (Manager)

Canterbury golf finally has a permanent home with the official opening of the new headquarters by the Harewood Golf Club at McLeans Island.

Inaugural Canterbury "Family of Golf" awards dinner to recognise people who have contributed to the game in the province is held at the Christchurch Casino.

Brad Lee (Waitikiri) becomes the first player to win the Canterbury stroke-play and match-play titles in the same year since Geoff Saunders (Christchurch) in 1979.

The Canterbury Golf Association and the Canterbury Women's Golf Association amalgamate to form one organisation, "Canterbury Golf Incorporated."

Liz Douglas Trophy Introduced to compliment the CGI men's Vardon Trophy. Nellie Tulisi from Waimairi Beach Golf Club is the inaugural winner.

Canterbury Golf introduces the "Golf in Schools" Programme to engage primary school children and introduce them to golf by giving them swing fundamentals in a fun and enjoyable environemnt.
The CGI Tour Order of Merit and Hellers Junior Order of Merit are introduced to provide an incenitve for golfers to play in local tournaments and Canterbury Championships.

Canterbury Golf's management structure is changed from a Board of Directors and Management Committee to one governing body - an Executive Committee.  The sub-committees are retained to ensure clubs have "a voice" into the management of Canterbury Golf.
Canterbury win the Freyberg Masters tournament for the first time with a clean sweep over all teams played.

Canterbury Golf sets up a new Honours & Awards Committee to ensure that volunteers are recognised for their contributions.  This results in the awarding of 21 services awards, 22 distinguished service awards and 15 life memberships in 2012.  Note that no life memberships had been awarded for men since 2004 and prior to this, no life memberships had ever been awarded to women.

The Canterbury Women's Team won the NZ Toro Interprovincials played at the Ashburton Golf Club.  The team was Momoka Kobori, Amelia Garvey, Catherine Bell, Juliana Hung, Hillary O'Connor, Jasmine Rou (reserve), Managers: Kate Johnstone and Rachel Thow.
Sir Bob Charles was awarded a Canterbury Golf Life Membership for his contribution to the game in Canterbury.

Amelia Garvey won the NZ Stroke Play Title.
The Canterbury Junior Team won the Boys Interprovincial Title in Cambridge.

Juliana Hung won the NZ Stroke Play Title.



Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2022   |   Website design by Plato Creative