
            
            
            
            
            
             
 
NEWSLETTER NO 2 
 
Greetings all, 
 
Happy New Year to all and I hope your golfing is going well despite the various difficulties that 
Covid throws at us.  
 
This is the second newsletter for our members.  We hope that it will contain interesting ideas and help 
in understanding the rules of golf. 
 
New Referees 
We welcome to our refereeing ranks two new referees: Chris Marple and Lorraine Woodfield. We 
hope you have much satisfaction with your refeereeing duties. We are always looking to have new 
referees into our group to share the duties around, so if there are any others who are interested, then 
make contact with one of us. 
 
Clubs requests for help 
Sometimes we get asked to give rulings or explanations of situations that have occurred at clubs.  We 
are happy to help with this as part of our focus is to help explain the rules of golf. Therefore we 
decided to share some of these situations with you. 
 
Distance Measuring devices and sharing information 
Distance measuring devices are able to be used as part of the new rules.  Information can be freely 
shared between  players by agreement on distance.  Distance between two objects is public 
information. There is no obligation to share this information  from one player to another, and there is 
no penalty if one refuses to give this information. This is different to giving information on the 
number of strokes that has been taken, which players are obliged to give correctly in match play. 
 
Rule 1.2 Standard of Player Conduct covers the expected behaviour of golfers and gives examples of 
being honest and acting with integrity and showing consideration to others.  There is no penalty 
included  for a breach of this rule.  However if the club has set its own standards of player conduct in 
a Code of Conduct , then it may decide to take action. This deliberate giving of false distances could 
be regarded as  serious breach of the code and  action could be taken by the committee running the 
competition. This would be similar to refusing to lift a ball at rest when it interferes with another 
player in stroke play, or deliberately distracting players while they are making strokes. These are 
listed as serious breaches in the interpretations book. 
 
Caddies using carts  
 A question from a club re the club championship concerning the caddie using a cart. The caddie may 
use a cart without needing a medical certificate. The player is the key here and  will walk the 
course.  Caddie does not need a Medical Cert.  
 
However ultimately the club will make a decision on the use of carts and whether medical certificates 
are required for players, but  it is usually only the players would need a MC.  
 
 
 



 
 
Players changing clubs during a round. 
A player was practicing before a round with two putters to decide which one to use.  After two holes, 
he decided that he wanted to use the second putter so changed the putters over. He consulted his 
opponent and he agreed to  this. 
 
 If the player has fewer than 14 clubs in his bag, he can add it without any problem and carry two 
putting clubs with him. However if he had 14 clubs at the start then it is different. Rule 4.1b-2 states 
that”the player is limited to the clubs he or she started with” unless allowed to add or change under 
4.1b-1. This means you could not change clubs during a round unless the rules allow you too. Just 
changing a club is not sufficient  reason, therefore this is a breach of the rules.  
 
The players in this case unknowingly agreed to this and were obviously unaware this could NOT be 
done.  Therefore no penalty is applied. If a referee was present they would have advised it could not 
be done.  
 
If, however, they agreed knowing they were not allowed to do this,  then a penalty under the rules 
would apply to both. They agreed to breach the rules of golf. That would not affect the outcome as 
they would be equally penalised to a maximum of 2 holes adjustment if they played two or  more 
holes. If it was corrected after 1 hole then only 1 hole adjustment. It’s a hole adjustment not a loss of 
holes but the effect is the same.  
 
Local Rules 
Since the new rules of golf came into play, we have hworked with a number of clubs with their own 
local rules. In many cases there were only a few changes required, but clubs need to make sure any 
local rules comply with the rules of golf and do not override or conflict with them.  Local rules can be 
displayed on the noticeboards and for the more permanent ones on the scorecard. Some local rules 
may change from day to day eg placing rules. 
 
There are a number of examples of local rules in the complete rule book which will help with the 
wording. We are also happy to help with the wording of local rules if required. 
 
Surprise,  surprise: Did you know : 
• If a fellow-competitor hits your ball, as a wrong ball, you are permitted to replace that ball, or 

another one, on the spot ( or estimate) where it originally lay, without penalty, even if you  cannot 
recover the original 

• If another player stands on your ball, embedding it, you are allowed to replace ( not drop) on the 
spot, without penalty.  

• Unless you are replacing your ball on it’s spot, you do not have to mark the position, prior to 
lifting. Although you still have to comply with the dropping rules, you do not have to mark your 
position when taking any relief or placing 

• If you have lifted your ball because it interferes with play, you are not permitted to clean it , prior 
to replacement 

• Tee blocks become movable obstructions once you have taken  your tee shot, but not before. Until 
then, they are an integral part of the course 

• If you are lifting your ball to take permitted relief, and then change your mind, as all your options 
are unattractive, and you wish to now play from the original spot ( e.g on a path) , there is a 
problem. You are only permitted to lift your ball in play when taking such relief , so if you are no 
longer taking that relief, you will incur the penalty for moving your ball illegally. Tip: never lift 
your ball before assessing your options.  

 
 
 



 
Out of bounds:  ( “ OB “ )  
OB is all areas outside the boundary edge of the course. Therefore, all areas inside that edge are in 
bounds. The boundary edge extends both up above and down below the ground. This means that all 
ground, and anything else  (whether natural or artificial), inside the boundary edge, is in bounds, 
whether on , above or below ground. 
Here are some applications of the OB rules: 
• If an abject is both inside and outside the boundary edge ( such as steps attached to a boundary 

fence, or a tree rooted outside the edge , but extending inside ( or vice versa), only the bit outside 
the edge is OB 

• If any part of the ball touches ground inside the OB line, it is deemed inside. However, if the ball 
is in a furrow marking the OB line, the ball is OB 

• There is no free relief from a boundary object ( i.e. OB fence or peg). They are not deemed 
obstructions , even if they can be moved. If moved, and not replaced before your stroke, there is a 
penalty. 

• There is no free relief from an immovable obstruction that is OB, but anything OB, that is 
movable, can be moved without penalty 

• A player can stand OB to hit a ball that is inside the line 
• A ball that is OB cannot be hit, even if your stance is inside the line. Such a hit will be penalised as 

a wrong ball 
• After hitting OB you can replace your ball, without penalty, for your next stroke, even if you have 

found your ball 
• If a flow of water ( either temporary or in a penalty area) carries a ball OB, it is to be treated as 

OB. Water is a natural force and not an outside influence. 
 
 

Rules Course 
At this stage, we are planning to hold a rules course covering level 1 and level 2 of the rules starting 
in mid-March. Red Light setting will require all people to have vaccine passes so this may prevent 
some peopple.  We will be seeking an indication of numbers from people to see if we should progress 
with the rules course for this year.  Watch for further information on this in the near future. 

. 
 
REFEREE’S QUIZ  (  answers below) 
1. Before starting a round of match play, A and B agree to concede all strokes within one foot of the 
hole but they are unaware that the Rules do not allow this agreement. The match starts with the 
agreement in place.  What is the ruling? 
 
A. The players are disqualified; they are expected to know the Rules. 
B. There is no penalty. 
C. The Committee must decide. 
 
2. Which is an example of serious misconduct where the Committee may disqualify a player for 
acting contrary to the spirit of the game (Rule1.2)? 
 
A. Distracting another player making a stroke out of carelessness. 
B. Intentionally distracting other players while they are making strokes; or removing loose 
impediments or movable obstructions to disadvantage another player after that player has asked him 
or her to leave them in place. 
C. Slamming a club to the ground damaging the club and causing minor damage to the turf; or, 
tossing a club toward a golf bag that unintentionally hits another person. 
 



3. In match play, the first handicap hole is the 3rd hole. Before starting the match, both A and B forget 
to declare their handicaps. During play of the first hole, they remember this mistake and declare their 
handicaps.  In which situation is A disqualified? 
 
A. A declares by mistake that he or she has a handicap of two, whereas A really has a handicap of 
one. B correctly declares that he or she has a handicap of one and they continue play of the first hole 
on that basis. After concluding the first hole, A corrects his or her mistake and the match continues 
with correct handicaps given by both players. 
B. A correctly declares that he or she has a handicap of one. B declares by mistake that he or she has a 
handicap of two whereas B really has a handicap of one and they continue play of the match on that 
basis. 
C. A by mistake deciares that he or she has a handicap of two, whereas A really has a handicap of 
one. B by mistake declares that he or she has a handicap of two whereas B really has a handicap of 
one and they continue play of the match on that basis. 
 
4. In stroke play, a player’s original ball is seen coming to rest in a penalty area but is not  
found after a search of two minutes. The player plays another ball by taking penalty relief  
(Rule 17.Id) and then the original ball is found in a playable spot inside the penalty area. Unsure of 
what to do, the player decides to play the original ball as a second ball, choosing to score with that 
ball. The player holes both balls and reports to the Committee.  What is the ruling? 
 
A. The score with the original ball counts without penalty since it was found within three minutes of 
search. 
B. The score with the substituted ball counts but the player gets the general penalty for playing the 
original ball when it was out of play. 
C. The score with the substituted ball counts. There is no penalty for playing the original ball as a 
second ball. 
C. 20.1c(3)/1 
 
5. For a ball that lies unplayable in the general area, a player takes relief by dropping it in a penalty 
area where it again comes to rest in an unplayable lie and cannot be played as it lies. Which is true 
regarding how the player may take relief? 
 
A. Take relief under the unplayable ball Rule with all of the options available under that Rule. 
B. Take relief under the penalty area Rule with all of the options available under that Rule. 
C. Take relief under penalty of stroke and distance by playing a ball from where the previous stroke 
was made. 
 
Answers 
1. B. 1.3b(1)/2 
2. B. 1.2a/1 
3. A. 3.2c(1)/1 
4. C. 20.1c(3)/1 
5. C. 19.2/1 and 19.2/2 
 
 
Kevin Gwatkin  
President  
Canterbury Golf Referees Association        
  


