Follow us on:
Kaiapoi Banner Kaiapoi Golf Club Find out more
Back to News


Central Canterbury versus Buller Westland Match

20 June 2016

Central Canterbury played against Buller Westland at the Hororata Golf Club playing reverse singles and singles matches.  The match involved senior, masters, intermediate and a womens team.  The new format for 2016 was successful with the introduction of a women team and an intermediate team.  The representative fixture has been modified from the previous quadrangular which had also included Canterbury North and Metro and now be a home and away match for Central Canterbury against Buller Westland. The Central Canterbury team won the overall competition 25-7. In the seniors Central won 5-3, the intermediate section was played on handicap and was won...

Read the full post

2016 Canterbury Golf Annual Awards Dinner

13 June 2016

The Canterbury Golf Annual Awards Dinner was held last Friday evening at Russley Golf Club, and the 175 people who attended were treated to a fine evening of awards, fun, and stories from guest speaker Greg Turner. The evening began with Kazuma Kobori (Rangiora) picking up the Eagles Promising Junior of the Year award. He was followed by Amelia Garvey (Kaiapoi) winning the Riccarton Park Golf Complex Girl's Junior Golfer of the Year, and Tom Parker (Russley) winning the Riccarton Park Golf Complex Boy's Junior Golfer of the Year. All three were interviewed by Rachel Thow and spoke with maturity about...

Read the full post

Nelson Reign in North Canterbury Representative Fixture

1 June 2016

The 2016 North Canterbury vs Nelson Men’s Representative fixture was held at Nelson Golf Club on the weekend with the weather having a big say in proceedings. Saturday morning foursomes were played in heavy rain and the Saturday afternoon singles were abandoned as a result of waterlogged greens and surrounds. In the Seniors, Nelson defeated the North Canterbury team of Matt Burns, Richard Sinclair, Jamie Mead, Tim Chambers, Ryan Adams, Matt Adams, Oscar Cadenhead and Andrew Green 8.5-3.5 winning the Saturday foursomes 3-1 and Sunday singles 5.5-2.5 The North Canterbury Junior team of Taylor Willis, Tom McLorinan, Kazuma Kobori and Austin Hamilton lost...

Read the full post

Richard Hudson employed as Mainland Club Capability Manager

25 May 2016

Richard Hudson Richard Hudson will leave his Golf Operations role at Russley Golf Club to take up the NZ Golf position of Mainland Club Capability Manager starting 27 June. His appointment is part of New Zealand Golf’s ongoing focus to grow participation and support clubs at the grass roots level. Sticking close to his roots, his new role will still be based in the Garden City which gives him a head start with all his current relationships in the Mainland area as he will work closely with other staff members and club managers in the region. Richard will bring a distinct skill set to...

Read the full post

Watikiri 3 Women's Weekend Interclub Champions

23 May 2016

Womens Weekend Interclub Winners 2016 Waitikiri 3 LR It was alwyas going to be a popular result no matter who was crowned Women's Weekend Interclub Champions at Waitikiri on Sunday. In wintery, southerly conditions Waitikiri 1 and Waitikiri 3 clubmates toughed it out in a close fought  final with the Waitikiri 3 team of,  from left Chris Marple, Helen Macaskill, Fay McCarthy and Henrietta Hall defeating the Waitikiri 1  team of Rosalie neaves, Lynley Watts, Sharyn Taylor and Ann Dickie.  It was a great club day with all the three Waitikiri teams making it through to the playoffs and turning out to celebrate the year's competition finale.  

Read the full post

Canterbury Golf Life Member Sue Boag Passes Away

17 May 2016

Sue Boag Canterbury Golf Life Member Sue Boag passed away last Tuesday 10 May, and a private family funeral was held yesterday. Sue had a fine and notable career in both golf administration and as a rep player.  Her playing career included representing Canterbury for 15 years from 1965-1969, 1971-1979 and 1984, and being captain of the team in 1976 and 1977.  She represented NZ from 1973 – 1975 and won numerous individual titles including five Canterbury Strokeplays and a Canterbury Matchplay, and the 1974 NZ Foursomes.  In administration she was Chairperson of the NZ Womens Players Association and a Canterbury Rep Selector...

Read the full post

Women's 36 Hole Interclub Champions Crowned

17 May 2016

Womens 36 Hole Silver Winners 2016 Clearwater LR The Women's 36 Hole Silver and Open Interclub Finals were played at Christchurch Golf Club yesterday in changeable weather, with the course in immaculate condition.  In the 36 Hole Silver Final the Clearwater team of, from left Mee Huong Yang, Lynda Vieceli, Nina Acland, Rachel Eder, Virginia Faass and Liz Signal defeated the previously unbeaten Russley team of Lesley Martin, Sue Brown, Elizabeth Lee and Ji Young Lee in an epic battle which went to a second sudden death play-off hole before Clearwater won.     It was a thrilling end in the gathering dusk.  Both teams had one win each in the morning foursomes,...

Read the full post

Pegasus Dominate Kaikoura & Templeton Cup Finals Day

16 May 2016

Kaikoura Cup Winners 2016 Pegasus 1 LR The Canterbury North Men's Interclub Finals Day were held at Pegasus on Sunday with the home club having a big say in proceedings. The Kaikoura Cup semi finals saw Pegasus 1 defeat Kaiapoi 4.5-1.5 while Rangiora Green accounted for Amuri 5.5-.5 to advance to the afternoon Final. The Pegasus 1 team of, from left Mike Taylor, James Loveday, Richard Sinclair, Phil Stephens, Martyn Price and Andrew Green proved too strong for a gallant Rangiora Green team of Jeremy Goodman, Tim Chambers, Matt Burns, Carl Lomas, Alistair Reid and Kevin Jones winning 4-2.   The Gardiner Trophy Final between top qualifier Rangiora White and Pegasus2...

Read the full post

Weedons Show Strength in Central Interclub

16 May 2016

The Final Rounds of The Central Canterbury Shield and Brownie Cup were held at Weedons Country Club yesterday with the home club continuing it's dominance in both competitions. The Central Canterbury Shield was won by Weedons Red with Lincoln the runner-up a point back. The Grant Lethaby Trophy for best individual performance was won jointly by, from left Mike Bond (Lincoln) and Ian Carruthers (Weedons)           The Brownie Cup was an all Weedons affair with the Weedons Black team of, from left Lindsey McEwan, Bruno Corbett, Dave Anderson, Keith Mills, Gary Seddon, seated Barry Grant and Wayne Hallinan edging out Weedons Red for honours...

Read the full post

Metro A & B Champions

12 May 2016

On Sunday 1 May the Christchurch Metro A & B Interclub Finals were played at McLeans Island in fine conditions. The Metro A Final between reigning champions Bottle Lake and Russley was taken out by the Bottle Lake team of Wayne Newsome, Steve Obery, Allen Goodman, Hayden Neill, Jeremy Goodman, Gary Newton, Fred Philpot, Trevor Hope, Shayne Dwyer, Kevin Williams, Paul Mottram and Simon Carey continuing their great success in Metro A for the third successive year, winning 5.5-2.5. The Metro B Final was a very close affair also between Russley and Bottle Lake with several matches undecided till the final hole....

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2019   |   Website design by Plato Creative