Follow us on:
Hanmer 4 Hanmer Springs Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Ashby Bergh & McGuire Hendon Trophies Head South

Posted by: on 19 July 2016

The Annual Ashby Bergh and McGuire Hendon Trophy fixtures were played at Tai Tapu in cool conditions with the course in excellent condition on Sunday where across town supremacy was at stake.

In the Ashby Bergh Trophy fixture Lincoln North, the winner of Canterbury Central Patterson Cup played Pegasus Red, the Canterbury North Templeton Cup winners in a very competitive match with both teams locked together at the end of 18 holes 4-4. Both Team Captains were drawn to play in a sudden death play-off with Lincoln team of, from left Scott Fairweather, Cameron Harker, Kevin Logan, Steve Harrold, Gary Shirley, Geoff Baldwin, Jon Berry and Darryl Moore (c) with the trophy, winning at the second play-off hole against a gallant Pegasus side of Richard Nortje, Jason Gwatkin, Daniel Dwyer, Grant Townley, Gary May (c), Darrell Hansen, Douglas Spencer and Peter Doak.


The McGuire Hendon Trophy saw the runner-up of Canterbury Central Patterson Cup, Weedons Red matched against Amberley Gold, the runner-up of the Canterbury North Templeton Cup. Weedons team of, from left  Alan Fibbes, Terry Sullivan, Martin Bogue, Tony Fitzgerald, Ian Knowler, Chris Hay and Ryan Barham eventually proved too strong for Amberley’s Greg Mills, Rowan Turnbull, Stephen Hartley, Graham Demmocks, Rex Kerr, Hayden Kent, Aaron Eddy and Bob McLeary winning 5-3.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Weedons Country Club Weedons Country Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2017   |   Website design by Plato Creative