Follow us on:
Clearwater Banner Clearwater Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Harewood Move to Top of the Table in Woodward Cup

Posted by: on 21 August 2017

Harewood showed they are a major contender for the Woodward Cup title in 2017 with a key win over Russley 5-3.  Anuresh Chandra playing in his first Woodward Cup match for Harewood at number one had a dominant win over Dominic Brettkelly 5/4.  Scott Manyweathers, Troy Clark and Antony Dale also secured wins for the Harewood team with Josh Smith and Tony Simpson getting the all important halves to achieve the team win.  Both Hiroki Miya and Ben Baker had solid wins 3/2 over Blair Dibley and 6/5 over Sam Watkinson respectively for Russley.

Pegasus had a dominant performance over Clearwater winning the match 7-1.  Kazuma Kobori led the team in the number one position achieving a well earned win over Oscar Cadenhead 3/2.  Matt Herd, Peter Lund, Phil Stephens, Phil Stephens, Richard Sinclair, Matthew Burns and Andrew Green also won their matches for Pegasus with Jake Hallinan winning the only game for Clearwater agains tJames Loveday.

Bottle Lake had their second win of the competition beating Waitikiri 5-3.  Jordan Pruden, Cameron Grant, Jason Campbell and Kris O'Neill had comfortable wins over their Waitikiri opponents whie Kieran Sharvin and Aaron Neill had halved matches with Chris Bond and Geoff Rudduck respectively.  Waitikiri's Paul McEwan had a good win over Nathan Arnott 5/4 and Richard Belcher beat Phil Davis 2/1.

Christchurch bounced back strongly after their loss last week to beat Coringa 5-3.  The top five for Christchurch dominated Coringa with Tom Parker, Marcel Boet, JJ Love, Richard Reed and Mike Toeke all winning.  Steven Yang, Grant Mercer and Nic Kay won their matches in the lower order for Coringa. 

Templeton had a tight match with Avondale with four matches going to the 17th hole.  Templeton came out on top winning 5-3.  Sam Purdon, Tom Wilson and Phil Bungard all had convincing wins in the top three positions for Templeton along with Paul Brightwell and Dave Shannon in the lower order.  Avondale's Jeremy Goodman, Nick Brennan and Aaron Pablecheque won their respective matches.

Click here to view the individual results.

Round 5 will be played next Sunday 27 August at the Christchurch Golf Club, with play starting at 12.30pm.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Charteris Bay Golf Club Charteris Bay Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2019   |   Website design by Plato Creative