Follow us on:
harewood banner Harewood Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Christchurch and Clearwater into Woodward Cup Final

Posted by: on 2 October 2016

This morning's semi-finals have run late due to dramatic finishes and play-offs on Finals Day at Shirley Links on a sunny Spring day.

In the Woodward Cup semis Clearwater defeated Templeton 4.5-3.5 witn a dramatic half on the 18th to Clearwater's Ryan Adams to square his match with Sam Purdon and get the half point needed for the win. In the other games Oscar Cadenhead beat Tim Leonard 3/2, Tom Wilson beat James Cadenhead 1up, Matt Morris beat Dan Laughton 6/5, Matt Adam beat James Robb 4/3, Austin Hamilton beat Joe Gantley 6/5,Phil Bungard beat Jim Smith 2up, and Greg Hey beat Noel Chambers 5/4.

The other semi was equally dramatic with games locked at 4-4 between Christchurch and Russley. Jordan Bakermans bear Reid Hilton on the first play-off hole to clinch the win for Christchurch. in regular time Jordan Bakermans beat Dominic Brettkelly 2/1, Reid Hilton beat Mike Toeke 2up, JJ Love beat Owen Burgess 2/1, Marcel Boet beat Anthony Weatherhead 2/1, Hiroki Miya beat John Sanders 2up, Karl Kitchingham beat Joe Falkner 1up, Andrew Dufton beat Russell Fildes 1up, and Garth Treacy beat Marcus Mariu 6/4.

In the Blank Cup semi-finals Russley beat Templeton 5-3, and Clearwater beat Pegasus in a play-off. Takuma Kikukawa, Aaron Brown, Jake Roberts and Ben Baker won for Russley with halves to Andrew Richardson and Hamish Kerr. For Templeton Dave Shannon and Greg O'Connor won with the halves going to Steve Chapman and Cam Findlayson.  For Clearwater Harris Kim, William Bastings, Sam Langrope, and Jackson Joseph won, while for Pegasus Richard Nortje, Mike Taylor, Phil Stevens, and Brandon Parker won. The play-off was contested by William Bastings and Phil Stevens, with Bastings winning on the first play-off hole.

In the Pollock Cup semi-finals Christchurch beat Waitikiri 4-0, and Russley beat Harewood 3-1. For Christchurch Catherine Bell beat Ginny Bolderston 3/2, Jeong-Hyu Lee beat Kim Moggach 3/2, Elisha Crosbie beat Naomi Wallace 6/4, and Olive Tapu beat Cheryl Kemp 8/7. For Russley Hillary O'Connor beat Anne Dick 1up, Krystle Falkner beat Debbie Scott 6/5, and Amy Weng beat Pam McTaggart 5/3. Jasmine Rou beat Juliana Hung 2/1 for Harewood.

The Simon Cup Final is being contested by Russley and Templeton, while the Pollock Cup Final is between Russley and Christchurch. Play got underway at about 2pm.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2018   |   Website design by Plato Creative