Follow us on:
Templeton Banner Templeton Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

NZ Golf National Academy re-selected for 2019

Posted by: on 14 May 2019

News Story courtesy of NZ Golf

New Zealand Golf’s 2019 National Academy has now been named with a number of players gaining reselection along with some of New Zealand’s rising young talents being included.

The incumbent members who have been reselected include Daniel Hillier (Manor Park), Luke Brown (The Pines), Matt Mclean (Harewood), Kerry Mountcastle (Masterton), Caryn Khoo (Pakuranga), Juliana Hung (Russley) and Brittney Dryland (Titirangi). 

The newly selected members include some familiar names with Kazuma Kobori (Rangiora), Carmen Lim (Windross Farm) and Vivian Lu (Royal Auckland and Grange) making the step up after a superb 12 months.

There are two distinct tiers within the National Academy. Tier Two is for players who have shown great potential but may still have some way to go before representing New Zealand at senior level or turning professional.  They have been identified as emerging talent but still have developmental gaps that need to be addressed while they strive to improve their on-course performance’s.

A Tier One player has addressed the majority of their developmental gaps.  While they are still on their skill mastery journey, they have shown deep engagement in their programme and have a number of competitive performances that show evidence of this growing mastery. This evidence will likely include strong international performances.

For a guide of the levels of performance mastery, skills, standards and behaviours required to achieve selection into the National Academy see HERE.

This year also sees the naming of a New Zealand Golf Development Group.  This group is made up of Kevin Koong (Muriwai), Tyler Wood (Palmerston North), Jordan Woodall (Cambridge), James Hydes (Gulf Harbour), Charlie Smail (Walton), Mako Thompson (Maraenui), Darae Chung (Shandon) and Fiona Xu (Akarana).  While these players haven’t quite yet met the criteria for tier two, they are showing the potential to do so in the future warranting closer monitoring and support.

This group of players will be invited to attend NZG Training camps, will have access to New Zealand Golf’s national services provider network to assist with their programme development and may be provided opportunities to compete internationally.

The 2019 National Academy members are: Juliana Hung (Russley), Brittney Dryland (Titirangi), Caryn Khoo (Pakuranga), Carmen Lim (Windross Farm), Vivian Lu (Royal Auckland and Grange) Daniel Hillier (Manor Park) Luke Brown (The Pines), Matt Mclean (Harewood), Kerry Mountcastle (Masterton) and Kazuma Kobori (Rangiora).

Tier One
Daniel Hillier

Tier Two
Luke Brown, Matt Mclean, Kerry Mountcastle, Kazuma Kobori, Juliana Hung, Brittney Dryland, Caryn Khoo, Carmen Lim, Vivian Lu.

2019 Development Group
Kevin Koong, Tyler Wood, Jordan Woodall, James Hydes, Charlie Smail, Mako Thompson, Darae Chung and Fiona Xu.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Amberley Golf Club Amberley Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2023   |   Website design by Plato Creative