Follow us on:
Hawarden Banner Hawarden Golf Club Find out more


Juliana Hung Named in NZ Queen Sirikit Cup Team

17 January 2019

Juliana Hung NZ Stroke Play Cropped New Zealand Golf have named an exciting young team to contest the 41st Queen Sirikit Cup to be played from 6-8 March at Glenelg Golf Club in Adelaide, South Australia. Canterbury’s Juliana Hung will be joined by Auckland’s Carmen Lim and Vivian Lu who will take on some of the world’s best at the prestigious Asia-Pacific Amateur Ladies Golf Team Championship. This trio includes the current holders of our two biggest trophies in the country’s amateur golf ranks with Hung winning the New Zealand Stroke Play Championship at Paraparaumu Beach Golf Club before Lu claimed the New Zealand Amateur Championship at Wairakei Golf...

Read the full post

Preview - 2019 Lamb & Hayward Canterbury Strokeplay

16 January 2019

Lamb and Hayward Left Tile The field is all but confirmed for the 2019 Lamb & Hayward Canterbury Strokeplay to be held at Pegasus Golf Club this weekend. It should be an interesting tournament with many new faces in the capacity field from throughout the South Island. Most are attracted by the House of Travel Tour prizes on offer across the Canterbury, Otago and Southland Strokeplays. The Men's Open field is full of provincial reps. The Canterbury contingent is lead by Hiroki Miya, Kazuma Kobori, Reid Hilton and Richard Reed. Ex Pro Jordan Latter is also an interesting addition.  There is a strong contingent from Otago...

Read the full post

The New Rules of Golf - Effective 1 January 2019

10 January 2019

Below is a brief summary of the main changes. Drop from knee height (NOT shoulder height) Measure the area to drop in with the longest club in your bag (except a putter)  Drop in and play from the relief area  When dropping back-on-the-line, your ball cannot be played from nearer the hole than your chosen reference point  Time to search – 3 minutes (NOT 5 minutes)  If you accidentally move your ball when searching for it, replace it without penalty  No penalty for a double hit – it only counts as one stroke  No penalty if your ball hits you or your equipment accidentally after a stroke No penalty...

Read the full post

Peter Mott Passes Away

7 January 2019

Peter Mott 1 Canterbury Golf Past President and Life Member Peter Mott passed away on Thursday 3 January. Peter was President of Canterbury Golf from 2001-2002 and also Canterbury Golf Men’s Convener of Selectors. His involvement with Canterbury Golf was officially acknowledged when he was inducted as a Canterbury Golf Life Member in 2012. Our thoughts are with Leone and all the family. Messages may be addressed to The Family of the late Peter Mott, c/- PO Box 39001, Christchurch 8545. In lieu of flowers, donations to Nurse Maude Association and may be made at the service. The Service to Celebrate Peter's life will be held...

Read the full post

Russley 3rd in Women's Gross Stableford Rosebowl Competition

19 December 2018

Womens Champion of Champions Winner 2018 Russley LR The National Gross Stableford Rosebowl competition results have now been finalised and Canterbury District Champion Russley's team of Juliana Hung, Coral Brander and Kath Kirk have finished third, which is a great result. Russley were just 2.4 points behind the winning team Omanu from Bay of Plenty. with Boulcott's Farm Heritage from Wellington second. Unfortunately inclement weather affected Northland’s event and players were unable to complete the 36 holes.Tasman holds its Champion of Champions over two days, therefore is not eligible to compete in the one-day 36-hole GSR. Click here for Full Results

Read the full post

Canterbury Golf December Newsletter

19 December 2018

Canterbury Golf Newsletter December 2018 lefttile Click here to view the Canterbury Golf December Newsletter You can also sign up to receive this newsletter directly by email by registering your details on the homepage of

Read the full post

Women's Crystalp Jewellery Ringers Tournament

18 December 2018

Womens Ringers Winners 2018 Hawarden LR The Women's Crystalp Jewellery Ringers Tournament was held at Hororata Golf Club yesterday in very hot 26 degree conditions and the course in great order. The Hawarden pair of, from left Michelle Fletcher and Erin Mulholland were the Ringers Champions with a combined 75 stableford points. Michelle's 43 points certainly matching the hot weather and giving Hawarden a winning advantage over Tai Tapu's Adrienne Shadbolt and Di Stalker on 69 points.  In the 9 Hole competition Bottle Lake's Jenny Bartley was first with 20 points from Pat Barwick, Waitikiri on 18 points. Click here for Full Results.    

Read the full post

Canterbury Age Group Championships & Teams Event

18 December 2018

Canterbury Age Group Championships 2018 As part of Canterbury Golf’s effort to grow the number of young people engaged in events, 9 and 18 hole events were added to the Canterbury Age Group Championships which are played over 36 holes. The added sections saw 55 children involved in the day held at Waitikiri Golf Club. Waitikiri Golf Club was in excellent condition following on from the NZ Women's Interprovincial held early December. The U19 Girls Championship was won by Maddie May (Russley) who came from two shots back after the morning round to win the title for the first time by eight shots after posting a three...

Read the full post

9 Hole Christmas Tournament

11 December 2018

The Canterbury Golf 9 Hole Christmas Tournament was played at Pegasus Golf Club yesterday in overcast conditions with the course in great order. A field of 63 players enjoyed the day with the following results: Grade 1 Women1st Gross - Johanna Moore, Bottle Lake - 461st Net - Chris Whiteside, Templeton - 341st Stableford - Jenny Yates, Amberley - 19 pts CB Grade 2 Women1st Gross - Anne Traquair, Bottle Lake - 541st Net - Tessa Molloy, Russley - 35 CB1st Stableford - Linda Neilson, Avondale - 18 pts Men1st Gross - Des Moore, Rangiora - 491st Net - Ted Kikstra, Greendale -...

Read the full post

Woodward Cup Promotion / Relegation

10 December 2018

Woodward Cup Promotion.Relegation Winners 2018 Hororata LR The Woodward Cup Promotion / Relegation match was played yesterday at Templeton Golf Club in very warm weather and the course in great condition.  This year's event matched the highest placed teams in Blank Cup (Clearwater) and Canterbury Central Shield (Hororata), that do not already have a team in Woodward Cup with the tenth placed team in this year's Woodward Cup (Avondale) for their place in the 2019 Woodward Cup competition. The format was gross stableford. Hororata earned the honour of promotion to the 2019 Woodward Cup proving too strong for Clearwater and Avondale with consistency being the key, having seven out of...

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Clearwater Golf Club Clearwater Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2019   |   Website design by Plato Creative