Follow us on:
Cheviot Banner Cheviot Golf Club Find out more


Kobori Finishes Runner Up at NZ Stroke Play

25 March 2019

Kazuma Kobori Bunker Kazuma Kobori almost backed up his incredible win at the NZPGA Championship pushing all the way to the 72nd hole of the NZ Stroke Play only to be beaten by Northland's Luke Brown who created a memory of a lifetime finishing with an eagle two on the 72nd hole to win the New Zealand Stroke Play Championship at the Christchurch Golf Club. Kobori started two shots clear heading into the final day of play, but Brown showed he was up for the challenge and build himself a three shot lead with three to play. However, bogies on 16 and 17 coupled with...

Read the full post

Strong field ready for New Zealand Stroke Play Championship tomorrow

20 March 2019

Kazuma NZPGA 2019 small Courtesy of NZ Golf: The 2019 New Zealand Stroke Play Championship tees off tomorrow with Canterbury’s very own Kazuma Kobori headlining an impressive field at the Christchurch Golf Club. After much consideration and consultation, the decision was made to continue with the championship and it promises to be an emotional week as 148 of the country’s best amateurs play for not only Christchurch but for the country.  With his recent success at the NZPGA Championship where Kobori recorded a four shot victory at the Pegasus Golf Club, he has now become one to watch at this level and will enjoy the chance to...

Read the full post

NZ Strokeplay Confirmed at Shirley

19 March 2019

Courtesy of NZ Golf: After much consideration and consultation a decision has been made to continue with the 2019 New Zealand Stroke Play Championship, to be held at the Christchurch Golf Club this week from 21-24 March.  NZ Golf have taken careful advice from Sport New Zealand, Christchurch City Council, the Christchurch Police, Christchurch Golf Club, Canterbury Golf, participating players and New Zealand Golf staff, who are all supporters of the championship going ahead. This decision has not been made lightly and after taking careful advice from the above parties, NZ Golf feel that the golfing community can show its support to the...

Read the full post

Applications Sought for Canterbury Selector Positions

12 March 2019

Canterbury Golf are seeking expressions of interest for the Canterbury Men’s & Women's Selector positions.  This is a rewarding role that contributes to the ongoing success of Canterbury Golf. To successfully fulfil the role, the following skills and attributes are required:  The ability to provide quality and fair player appraisals Well organised The ability to work as part of a team A passion for golf Excellent communication and analytical skills Ability to spent time at interclub and major tournaments based in Canterbury to observe players Previous playing experience at a high level would be advantageous The key responsibilities for this role are: Providing quality appraisals of players based on observational...

Read the full post

Burnside High School Win Canterbury Secondary Schools Championships

12 March 2019

Sec Schools Champs Winners 2019 Burnside HS LR The Canterbury Secondary Schools Golf Championships were held at Harewood Golf Club yesterday in fine conditions and the course in great order. Burnside High School's team of, from left Yuki Miya, Hayato Miya, Amy Weng and Jasmine Clancy won the Gross Teams prize with a team three lowest aggregate gross total of 225. Christchurch Boys High School's team of Ben Burgess, Kan Shin, Ed Dickinson and Tiaki Ogilvie were nine shots back on 234. St Andrew's College team of Hayden Lam, Mika MacDonald, Seb May and Reuben Smith were third on 245. Christ's College team of Zach May, Tim Seeto, Robert McClean and...

Read the full post

Kazuma Kobori Wins NZPGA Championship

11 March 2019

Kazuma is the CHAMP Courtesy of NZ Golf: 17-year-old amateur Kazuma Kobori has won the SEC NZ PGA Championship to claim his first victory on the PGA Tour of Australia.   In a dominant performance at his home course, the Pegasus Golf and Sports Club member maintained his overnight lead to win by four shots from New Zealand’s David Smail with rounds of 67, 65, 66 and 69 for a tournament total of 21-under.   “It feels incredible,” said an ecstatic Kobori. “It hasn’t actually sunk in yet but I think it will later on.”   “I didn’t miss too many greens today.   “I...

Read the full post

Plaudits continue for Kazuma

11 March 2019

IMG 5600 1120 kobori 1 The plaudits continue for Kazuma Kobori a day after his historic win at the NZPGA. He was all the buzz at the Canterbury Secondary Schools Championship at Harewood this morning as whispers went around to point out Kazuma as he striped his first tee shot down the middle. He is described as a "teenage golf sensation" in this article written on The Stuff website this afternoon. No doubt the accolades will continue in the coming days as we continue to celebrate this remarkable achievement. 

Read the full post

New Zealand Finish Fifth at Queen Sirikit Cup

9 March 2019

Juliana Hung NZ Stroke Play Cropped The New Zealand side of Carmen Lim, Juliana Hung and Vivian Lu have completed a great Queen Sirikit Cup campaign to finish in fifth place while Korea continued their dominance to win by 16 shots. Juliana Hung had a solid week finishing tied for 9th position at four-over for the championship along with Carmen Lim. Vivian Lu rounded out the week finishing tied for 21st position. Leaderboard at a glance: Korea -17Australia -1China +2Thailand +3New Zealand +5 Click here to view the individual leaderboard.

Read the full post

Kobori in hot form at NZPGA

8 March 2019

Kazuma Kobori Bunker Rangiora's Kazuma Kobori has continued his hot form over the summer shooting an opening round 67 at the SEC NZPGA Championsip at Pegasus yesterday. He is the leading amateur by five shots and is currently tied 7th. This followed the 65 he shot in qualifying on Monday at Rangiora Golf Club - the best score of the day amongst all the Pros trying to get into the field. Kazuma tees off for round two at 2.15pm this afternoon off No.1 tee. Josh Geary leads the tournament after a course record 63 yesterday. Click here to see the wrap on the opening round.  

Read the full post

Michael Campbell star attraction at Pegasus NZPGA

7 March 2019

michael campbell.jpg 752x2 Courtesy of the NZPGA: Following his official return to professional golf at the 100th New Zealand Open in Queenstown last week, New Zealand golfing star Michael Campbell turns his focus to the SEC NZ PGA Championship at Pegasus Golf and Sports Club in the tournament’s first staging at the Christchurch course.The 2005 U.S. Open Champion makes his first appearance at the SEC NZ PGA Championship in 2019, a tournament he is pleased to add to the list.“I can’t believe it’s my first time here,” said Campbell.“I’ve been wracking my memory and it’s the first time; I’ve actually never played here which is...

Read the full post

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Kaituna Golf Club Kaituna Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2019   |   Website design by Plato Creative