Follow us on:
Amberley Banner Amberley Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

2023 Canterbury Stroke Play Preview

Posted by: on 1 February 2023

The 2023 Canterbury Stroke Play is now just days away as excitement builds for one of the most eagerly anticipated fields in the event's history to be played at Waimairi Beach Golf Club over the 4-5 February weekend. Over 140 entries, a new record, were received for the 96 positions meaning the competition for places was extremely tight across several of the divisions.

With the ballot completed the playing field consists of representatives from across both Canterbury and the country. In total there will be players from 35 different clubs taking part with 16 Canterbury-based clubs represented and a stunning 19 out-of-region clubs to be represented, the full list of clubs can be found below.

277747822 5764947800185364 7995146397560261178 n2

This event will mark some of the lowest handicaps on record in the men’s and men’s masters’ divisions with practically the entire division holding a handicap index of under 3 with 24 players with a plus handicap.

Local hopes in the men’s division include Nic Kay (+4.4, Christchurch), Sam McGill (+3.6, Clearwater), Dominic Brettkelly (+3.5, Clearwater), Cooper Moore (+3.0, Clearwater), Dean Harvey (+2.4, Pegasus), Tom Lee (+2.4) and Reid Hilton (+2.3, Russley) who will all be looking to stake their claims over the 54-Hole event. Out-of-town prospects include Auckland-based Robbie Turnbull (+4.3, Remuera) and recent Otago Stroke Play Champion Ben Patston (+2.2, Otago.) There will also be plenty of competition for the U19 title with 18 players in the field being eligible to get their hands on the Ron Clements Memorial trophy.

In the Open Women’s category, there is a strong out-of-town contingent with defending champion Yoonae Jeong (+1.9, Wakitipu), Chloe Lam (+0.6, Remuera), Jackie Jang (+0.6, Whitford Park), Chloe So (+0.1, Pakuranga) and Aroha Minhinnick (0.0, Rarangi.) All who will no doubt be backing themselves to come to Christchurch and do the business.

The Men’s Masters category is sure to excite with several experienced players set to do battle. Canterbury-based hopefuls include David Grater (+2.2, Christchurch), Woobong Kim (+0.8, Waitikiri), James Howard (+0.6, Coringa), and Aaron Forsyth (+0.3, Waitikiri) who will all be competing to wrestle the Master's title back into Cantabrian hands. Notable out-of-towners include Nathan Moore (+0.9, Motueka), defending champion Ben Crawford (+0.6, Nelson), Roy Hollick (0.1, Pakuranga), and Andrew Hobbs (0.6, Otago.)

Finally, it is an all-Canterbury-based field for the Women’s Masters division with the absence of defending champion Rachel Eder paving the way for a new champion to be crowned on Sunday afternoon. Some of those looking to seize the opportunity include Kim Moggach (2.8, Waitikiri), Naomi Wallace (3.1, Waitikiri), Joanne Kent (4.5, Rangiora), and Sally Rossiter (4.7, Pegasus.)

The full draw can be viewed – HERE.

Round 1 action starts from 7.30am on Saturday with Round 2 to follow in the afternoon and the final round from 7.30am on the Sunday. Spectators are encouraged to come on down to Waimairi Beach to watch some of the country’s best amateurs in action!


List of different clubs players will be representing:

Canterbury Clubs

Out of Region Clubs


Chisholm Park








North Otago







McLeans Island







Royal Wellington


St Clair

Waimairi Beach

Taieri Lakes










Whitford Park

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood 8051

Postal Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood 8051

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Weedons Country Club Weedons Country Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative