Follow us on:
Rawhiti Banner Rawhiti Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

McLeans Island - Presidents Grade Champions

Posted by: on 13 July 2020

The final round of Men’s Presidents Grade interclub was completed on Sunday 5 July two months later than originally scheduled due to COVID-19 lockdown restrictions.

It was always going to be a close finish with very little between the top five or six teams, and so it proved with McLeans Island pipping Russley on the post. In the final round McLeans Island won a close match with Christchurch 4.5-3.5 at Christchurch while Russley and Clearwater couldn’t be separated playing at Clearwater finishing 4-4.

These results left both Russley and McLeans Island on top of the table with 16 points, however McLeans Island’s win was just enough to edge them past Russley with a better individual games total. Coringa finished third and Harewood fourth.

The successful McLeans Island Presidents team. Back row; Marty Lion, Craig Cowper, John Townshend, Keith Hogg, Chris Collins, Wayne Pluck.  Front row; Dale Schulz, Gav Russell, Alex Cudworth(Captain) Ian McCall, Tony Neil, Graeme Mabey. 


Bottle Lake’s Steve Henry, pictured with Bottle Lake Club Captain Craig Bilton, was awarded the Presidents MVP Trophy with 10 wins, 1 half and 2 losses over the 13 rounds. Close behind Steve were McLeans Island’s John Townshend and Craig Cowper.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2023   |   Website design by Plato Creative