Follow us on:
Amuri Banner Amuri Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

2018 Canterbury Golf Annual Awards Dinner

Posted by: on 20 June 2018

160 people attended the 2018 Canterbury Golf Awards Dinner held at Russley Golf Club last Friday night and enjoyed an evening of awards, fun, and a thought provoking presentation from guest speaker Melodie Robinson.

Robinson spoke of her upbringing through a diverse group of parentage, and her struggle to progress through a male dominated media and sports broadcasting industry. Her initiative to promote women in media was inspiring.

As well as the awards, the evening proceed in slick fashion spiced up with humour from the consumate professional Phil McGoldrick as MC.  There were giveways and spot prizes, and plenty of time to catch up with old friends and acquaintances.

He was great to have Sir Bob Charles, NZ Golf CEO Dean Murphy, Sport Canterbury CEO Julyan Falloon, and several Canterbury sponsors along to enjoy the celebration with club members.

The Canterbury Tasman Turf Managers Association attended for the first time and presented two awards for Best Presented Golf Course (Waimairi), and Contribution to the Turf Industry (Colin Posa).

A couple of our top golfers who won awards were not in attendance due to playing commitments overseas. However pre-recorded interviews filled the void and their parents were there to pick up the awards.

The list of award winners were: 

Golf Warehouse Women's Golfer of the Year - Juliana Hung (Russley)
Golf Warehouse Men's Golfer of the Year - Tom Parker (Christchurch)
Vardon Trophy (sponsored by Golf Warehouse) - Matt McLean (Harewood)
Liz Douglas Trophy (sponsored by Golf Warehouse) - Juliana Hung (Russley)
Riccarton Park Golf Complex Junior Women's Golfer of the Year - Juliana Hung (Russley)
Riccarton Park Golf Complex Junior Men's Golfer of the Year - Hiroki Miya (Russley)
Trevinos Administrator of the Year - Neville Bamford (Harewood)
Trevinos Volunteer of the Year - Pip Deans (Hororata)
Fenix Golf Ambassador of the Year - Olive Tapu (Christchurch)
Eagles Most Promising Junior Girl
- Amy Weng (Russley)
Eagles Most Promising Junior Boy - Hayato Miya (Russley)
Distinguished Service Award - Ken McFarlane (Rangiora)
Service Award - Lyn Robertson (Amberley)
Service Award - Jill Jenkins (Waimakariri Gorge)
Service Award - Tom Parker (Christchurch)

Neville Bamford4

Pip Deans

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative