Follow us on:
Hanmer 4 Hanmer Springs Golf Club Find out more
Back to Archive

Ashby Bergh Trophy & McGuire Hendon Cup

Posted by: on 17 July 2017

The Ashby Bergh Trophy and McGuire Hendon Cup were played in great spirit at the Amberley Golf Club on Sunday in fine but cool conditions after the recent snowfall, which necessitated the transfer of venue from Waimakariri Gorge. At very short notice, hosts Amberley Golf Club had the course in excellent order and looked after everyone in their customary fashion very well. 

The Ashby Bergh Trophy between the winner of Canterbury Central Patterson Cup, Weedons Red and the winner of the Canterbury North Templeton Cup, Kaiapoi Blue was a very tight affair with two matches going to the 18th before the Weedons team from left, Mark Taylor, Max Yorke, Daryl Campbell, Peter Wood, Glenn Hames, Mike Prendergast, David Butts, Terry Sullivan, and Dave Stubbs overcame a gallant Kaiapoi Blue team of Dion Ratahi, Chris East, Graham Moore, Brian East, Gavin Benington, Perry Tidball, Gordon McGeddie and Steve Cassidy 5 - 3


The McGuire Hendon Cup between the Patterson Cup runner-up, Burnham and the Templeton Cup runner-up Kaiapoi Gold also was a hard fought contest with three matches going to the penultimate hole and another two to the 18th before Burnham’s from left, Wayne Carling, Dave Kirton, Les Edwards, Wayne Gruebner, Thomas Pooley, James Turipa, Craig Lawson and Clayton Hogg defeated Kaiapoi Gold’s Rodney Downes, Steve Davies, Dale Brown, Jack Oldridge, Gary Raharaha, Mike McRandle, Dave Hogwood and Ray McQuillan 6.5 - 1.5 

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Culverden Golf Club Culverden Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative