Follow us on:
Rawhiti Banner Rawhiti Golf Club Find out more
Back to Archive

Templeton Win Blank & Simon Cups

Posted by: on 2 October 2017

Blank Cup Winners 2017 Templeton LR

Templeton showed their strength through the interclub grades when they won both the Blank and Simon Cups yesterday at Waimairi Beach Golf Club, with their Woodward Cup side also narrowly missing out in the semi-finals.

They won the Blank Cup 6-2 over Harewood with wins to Zac Mason, Greg Hey, Mike Berry, Ben Langrope, Joe Gantley, and Cam Finlayson. For Harewood Gavin O'Hara and Neville Bamford won well. The Russley v Harewood semi-final was a tense affair with Harewood dethroning the seemingly invincible Russley side. All the matches went down to the wire, with Harewood coming out winners in five of the matches on the last two holes. The relatively young Russley team should be better for the experience, with Andrew Richardson, Nik Bull and Zach May getting their wins. By contrast the other semi-final was more comfortable for Templeton 5.5-2.5 over Weedons. Although Jonathan Steiller and Shaun Payne had good wins for Weedons, their team-mates were not able to support with Templeton getting wins to Mike Berry, Ben Langrope, James Moynihan, Anthony Woodgate, and a half to Greg Hey against Jessie Rich. 

Simon Cup Winners 2017 Templeton LRThe Simon Cup Final saw Templeton eventually run out comfortable winners 6.5-1.5 over Rangiora. It was unfortunate that Rangiora had a couple of players out with their Club Champs Finals, but in the end Templeton were too strong, coming through in four matches on the last two holes. Wins to Richard Mills, Mike Robertson, Matt Ryall, Patrick Werahiko, Lance Gahan, Mike Beaudoin, and a half to Bruce Purdon against Mike Clapham cemented the victory. Craig Dickinson got the sole win for Rangiora.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Lincoln Golf Club Lincoln Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative