Follow us on:
McLeans Island Banner McLeans Island Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Canterbury Central Interclub

Posted by: on 22 May 2023

The Semi-Finals of the Patterson Cup were played on a very wet Tai Tapu course. Hosts Tai Tapu used the local knowledge and avoided the worse of the wet patches to defeat Weedons Black 7.5-1.5 Both undefeated golfers in the competition Matt Rockhouse from Weedons and Derek Watson from Tai Tapu continued their winning ways, unfortunately for Matt his teammates did not jump on the winning train (maybe it would have been better to have a hydroplane to navigate).

The other semi final between Hororata and Ellesmere was a closer tussle coming down to the last putt on the last green in near darkness and Hororata No.1 Spencer Deverall getting the vital win for a 5 to 4 victory.
The final is being played next week, 28th May at Greendale between Tai Tapu looking for the three peat of the Patterson Cup and Hororata looking to repeat their round robin victory.

Brownie Cup was moved from Lincoln due to the damp and was played at Greendale. Huge thanks to both Greendale and Burnham who made their courses available at very short notice. The round robin had a very simple equation for Weedons Red. Beat Tai Tapu and the trophy would be presented by the chair of Central Canterbury Wayne Hallinan to himself. However, the Tai Tapu team had the same equation, win and Wayne would be handing the trophy to them, and win they did.

Canterbury Central Shield final round was also played in the wet at Tai Tapu. For the first time in 55 years the trophy will have the Ellesmere club shown as the winner with an unbeaten season. They were under pressure from the Lincoln team who had a 6-0 victory over Greendale/Burnham. Both Mike Bond and Russell Kirk were unbeaten for the Lincoln team, Russell having five wins and claiming the trophy for the best individual record. This meant Ellesmere had to triumph over the strong Hororata team who had Canterbury rep Dominic Brettkelly fresh off winning the Waimak Gorge Open the previous day in the No.1 spot. Ellesmere's team from left, Mike Robertson, James Barclay, Paul Bailey, Mike Berry and Paul Greenwood eventually winning 4-2 and now must find room for the trophy.

Individual winners from Central Shield and Patterson Cup from left, Russell Kirk (Grant Lethaby Trophy, Central Shield), Derek Watson (Keith Vogan Trophy) and Matt Rockhouse (Trevor Evans Cup).


Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Ellesmere Golf Club Ellesmere Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative