Follow us on:
Hagley Banner Hagley Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Canterbury Golf Presidents, Secretaries & Captains Day

Posted by: on 12 February 2024

The 2024 annual Presidents, Secretaries & Captains Day was delivered by Canterbury Golf at Harewood Golf Club last Friday in what as always is a special day on the calendar. 

In all, there were 92 players in the field which included 36 club Captains (18 pairs), 23 Presidents, and 15 Secretaries/Club Managers all taking part as well as the many invited guests. Further from all those participants, 22 clubs across Canterbury were represented on the day which provides a fantastic opportunity for those important people within clubs an opportunity to mix, mingle, and connect with their counterparts in other clubs and celebrate our shared passion for the game of golf and the work that the clubs do. 

Prize giving

In delivering the day it also provides Canterbury Golf the opportunity to highlight the great work all these people do for the Canterbury Golf community and thank them for that. This year we were also lucky to have new Golf New Zealand CEO Jeff Latch join the playing field where he was able to connect with a vast array of Canterbury Golf people of various capacities. Jeff addressed the room at the post-match prize-giving and dinner and spoke of his excitement about where golf is currently at in New Zealand and the potential for future growth and the opportunities and challenges that exist around this. The dinner also gave an opportunity for new Canterbury Golf President Dion Kerr to address the room as well as acknowledge former President Mike Rondel's appointment to the Golf NZ Board.

On the course, there was a mix of scoring but plenty of fun was had, accompanied by many comments about the quality of the course. Steve Kilpatrick (Russley) took out the President's title with his 36 Stableford points, his 4th win over the last 6 years which is an impressive return for the former Canterbury Golf President. (Pictured below - Steve Kilpatrick.)

Winning President Steve Kilpatrick

Julie Battersby (Clearwater) took out the Secretaries title with a score of 34 while the McLean's Island pairing of Warren Davis and Judy Smith took out the Captain's Pair prize with their combined score of 68. (Pictured below: Warren Davis and Judy Smith.)

Winning Capatins pair McLeans Island

The team competition, which sees the group's best 3 of 4 Stableford scores used was claimed by the group of Steve Jones (Rangiora), Diane Archer (Rangiora), Trina Reid (Cheviot), and Stephen Inch (Cheviot) with an impressive score of 119. (Team pictured below.) The full results for the event can be viewed - HERE.

1st place team

A big thank you to Harewood Golf Club for their great hosting of the event which I'm sure will leave many looking forward to the 2025 edition.

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Cheviot Golf Club Cheviot Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative