Follow us on:
Kaituna Banner Kaituna Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Kazuma Kobori Named at Finalist in Canterbury Sports Awards

Posted by: on 5 March 2020

Courtesy of Star Media

The Canterbury Sports Awards finalists have been revealed today during an event at the Ngā Puna Wai Sports Hub.

Sport Canterbury chief executive Julyan Falloon said the finalists demonstrate the diversity of sporting excellence in Canterbury.

“It’s easy to associate red and black and our regional pride with three or four sporting codes,” Falloon said.

“Ngā Puna Wai was a perfect setting to share our 2020 ORIX NZ finalists.

“The Ngā Puna Wai sports hub is symbolic of Canterbury sports coming together – in the same way this awards event represents the absolute best of the sporting best in our province.

“We are a region that will always love its footy. However, in this single list of finalists, for Canterbury we know that footy means league, union and soccer, while water sports include canoe, swimming, rowing and tri.”

The awards will be held on Friday, April 3, at the Air Force Museum New Zealand in Wigram.

ORIX NZ Canterbury Sports Awards Finalists List 2020

Canterbury Office Furniture Outstanding Administrator of the Year 2020

  • Avril Enslow GymSports
  • Debbie Rahurahu Swimming
  • Ken Lomax Cricket

Christchurch City Council Outstanding Sports Club of the Year 2020

  • Christchurch Squash Club Squash
  • Lancaster Park Cricket Club Cricket
  • Linwood Keas Rugby League Club Rugby League
  • Waimairi Tennis Club Tennis

Blackwells Outstanding Sports Official of the Year 2020

  • Christine Cassin Swimming
  • Gareth Greenfield Hockey
  • George Haswell Touch
  • Marty Davison Basketball

UC Health Outstanding Coach of the Year 2020

  • Andrew Williams Cycling
  • Dale Stevenson Athletics
  • Gary Hay Rowing
  • Roly Crichton Swimming

Lincoln University Outstanding Junior Sports Team of the Year 2020

  • Canterbury Rugby U19 Rugby Union
  • Canterbury Under 18 Men Hockey
  • Christchurch Boys High School U18 8+ Rowing
  • St Andrew's College 1st XI Cricket

Canterbury Orthopaedic Services Trust Outstanding Team of the Year 2020

  • Canterbury Men's Team Bowls
  • Canterbury United Pride Football
  • Crusaders Rugby Union

Anstice Optometrists Outstanding Para Athlete/Team of the Year 2020

  • Celyn Edwards Para Swimming
  • Cody Everson Wheelchair Rugby
  • Scott Martlew Para Canoe
  • William Stedman Para Athletics

Christchurch City Council Sport and Recreation Event of the Year 2020

  • FIH Pro League Hockey
  • New Zealand Marching Championships Marching
  • South Island Pacific Sports Association Incorporated Rugby League

Craigs Investment Partners Outstanding Sportswoman of the Year 2020

  • Grace Prendergast Rowing
  • Jane Watson Netball
  • Olivia Merry Hockey
  • Sophie Pascoe Swimming

HEB Construction Outstanding Sportsman of the Year 2020

  • Sam Lane Hockey
  • Sam Whitelock Rugby Union
  • Tomas Walsh Athletics

Outstanding Young Sportswoman of the Year 2020

  • Ashlee Strawbridge Basketball
  • Sami Donnelly Cycling
  • Phoebe Trolove Rowing
  • Amy Rule Rugby Union
  • Brea Roderick Triathlon

AECOM Outstanding Young Sportsman of the Year 2020

  • Caius Fa'atili Rugby League
  • Kazuma Kobori Golf
  • Laurence Pithie Cycling
  • Nic Lidstone Cricke

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative