Follow us on:
Templeton Banner Templeton Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Pollock Cup Review

Posted by: on 7 August 2019

Pollock Cup starts this Sunday at Waimairi Beach Golf Club at 9.30am, the competition will again have seven teams competing after the successful introduction of the new competition format in 2018 which has seen a significant increase in the number of players involved.

Waimairi Beach have the first round bye and will be looking forward to getting underway in round two against Weedons. Waimairi Beach will have a similar team to 2018 with Kate Turner, Lyn Robertson and Allison Doell along with Timaru based players Angela Gerkin and Lynda Brown. New to the team for 2019 is Jana Beneke who will be relishing the opportunity to get her first taste of Pollock Cup.

Last year’s semi-finalists Christchurch will be looking to continue their strong run of form in this competition with Catherine Bell, Olive Tapu making a strong combination at the top of the order. Christchurch will also have the experience of Melissa Newburn, Margaret Mary Coughlan, Mel Brew and Robyn Gillespie along with Nicky Webb who is back playing in Pollock Cup after a number of years away from the competition.

Harewood’s top order has a familiar look about it with Catherine Knight and Anne Dick in the top spots with Debbie Scott, Pam McTaggart, Lynn Brand and draft players Rachel Eder (Clearwater) and Cheryl Kemp (Waitikiri) providing strength in the middle and lower order.

Weedons have a relatively new look squad with Joanne Kent (Rangiora), Virginia Faass (Clearwater) and Jenny Clarke (Waitikiri) joining the central club as draft players, together with Weedons club champion Deanna Matthews, Di Kay and Sarah Lurajud.

Pegasus will be looking to go one better this season after finishing runners up in 2018 and have a good mix of youth and experience with Amy Weng, Yoyo Fu complemented by the experience of Bobbi Oliver, Karen de Latour and draft players Nicky Muir (Hororata) and Rosalie Neaves (Waitikiri). Depending on the playing schedule Pegasus may also be able to add the strength of Rion Ishizawa to their team.

Waitikiri have a tough opening match against defending champions Russley but they will have the experience of three Canterbury Masters representatives Naomi Wallace, Kim Moggach and Suzette Eastmond to strengthen the team along with Danielle Price, Chris Marple, Lynley Watts and drafted player Ginny Bolderston who will travel from Geraldine to again participate in the competition.

Russley will once again be one of the youngest teams in the competition and will be looking to go back-to-back this year and will be led by Canterbury representatives Hillary O’Connor and Maddie May together with Alisia Ren, Anika Park, Estelle Lin, Jasmine Clancy and Louise Hegan.  

Click here to view the Draw 

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Kaituna Golf Club Kaituna Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative