Follow us on:
Burnham1 Burnham Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Results - Lamb & Hayward Canterbury Strokeplay

Posted by: on 8 February 2020

Canterbury Stroke Play Results

Open Men
Open Women
Masters Men
Masters Women

Dominic Brettkelly is the toast of Hororata this afternoon after he came from behind to win the Lamb & Hayward Canterbury Strokeplay Men's Championship at Harewood. Back from the USA on a break from University Dominic shot a final round 71 to beat Hayato Miya, Mike Toeke, and Josh Smith by one shot, and win the title for the second time. Playing in the second to last group, he had a nervous wait as the final group of Reid Hilton, Mike Toeke and Josh Smith looked likely to win or end up in a playoff. While Dominic birdied the last three holes the final group could not get it in and made bogeys down the stretch to fall short. Next best were Jonny MacKay and Reid Hilton.

The Women's Championship was won by Christchurch Golf Club's Yoonji Woo. She was too strong with three rounds of 70 to win by six shots from Russley's Anika Park, then a further four shots back to Sumin Kang from Queenstown. Sumin shot a fine third round of 68 but will rue the 81 she had in the second round. Sayaka Okada (Pegasus) and Maddie May (Russley) were the next best.

The Men's Masters Championship was won by Kwang Hoon Woo who is the father of the women's winner Yoonji Woo. With rounds of 74, 75, 75 he won by five shots from Russley's Andrew Dufton, with a further two shots back to Waitikiri's Brett Turner. Woo began the day with a three shot lead, and playing in the final group together, Dufton and Turner were unable to peg him back. 

Waitikiri and Canterbury Rep Kim Moggach won the Women's Masters Championship holding on after starting the final round with a five shot lead over Southland's Robyn Pullar. She prevailed by one shot over Pullar, with clubmate Suzette Eastmond finishing third.

The Men's Net was won by youngster Ben Allington (Harewood) by one shot from Russley Master Gary Gillard. Clearwater's Virginia Faass won the Women's Net by one shot over Waitikiri's Cheryl Kemp.

Thanks must got to Harewood Golf Club for presenting a superb golf course and backing that up with fine hospitality and support from their members. The Harewood layout proved once again what a fine test of golf it is for a championship of this level. Thanks also to Stephen Parkyn and his team at Lamb and Hayward for again supporting the championship. 

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000
Fax: (03) 359 4001


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Amuri Golf Club Amuri Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2020   |   Website design by Plato Creative