Follow us on:
Rawhiti Banner Rawhiti Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Russley to the fore on Finals Day

Posted by: on 1 October 2018

The Russley interclub teams made the most of playing on their home course in front of an appreciative membership to win three out of the four finals on offer yesterday afternoon at the Canterbury Golf Interclub Finals Day.

Russley Woodward Cup winnersIn the Woodward Cup they had a good battle with Templeton who had made the final for the first time in many years and had not won the Woodward Cup since 1963. After nine holes the match was delicately poised with Russley leading 4.5-3.5 but only 1up in the four matches they held. However on the back nine their players really came through. One of the keys was Hiroki Miya turning his match around against Sam Purdon, and likewise for Hayato Miya against Jordan Latter. Both were two down after nine holes but came through to both win 2/1. Of the close matches after nine, Reid Hilton, Michael McAuley, David Kelly and Andrew Dufton all come through with wins for Russley leading to their 6-2 victory. For Templeton Rhys Wilson and Ryan Bellamy had good wins. This was Russley's 8th win in the last 10 years of Woodward Cup.

Russley Pollock Cup Winners

In the Pollock Cup Final it was Russley all the way after they had built an unassailable 5.5-0.5 lead after nine holes. To her credit, Pegasus's Hillary O'Connor came back from three down to grab a half against NZ Rep Juliana Hung, but the other matches went Russley's way for them to run out 4.5-1.5 winners. Amy Weng, Maddie May and Mihee Woo had big wins for Russley, while Karen De Lautour got the sole win for Pegasus.  


Russley Blank Cup winnersIn the Blank Cup both Clearwater and Russley would have rated their chances of winning the final after big semi-final wins in the morning, and it turned out to be a close battle with three matches going to the last hole before Russley came through to win 5-3. Clearwater got two wins in early with Harris Kim and Michael Bailey, but then Zach May, Nik Bull, Andrew Richardson, Denis Kelliher and Simon Murphy came in for Russley with wins to seal the victory. John Parlane got the other win for Clearwater. 

Waitikiri Simon Cup Winners

The Simon Cup Final between Waitikiri and Avondale was the last match to finish in fading light. After nine holes Waitikiri looked likely with a lead in most matches but Avondale fought back and seven of the eight matches went to the last hole. The final score was 6-2 to Waitikiri with wins on their final hole to Ricky Walker, Colm Ward, Matt Evers-Carmichael, and Mark Pearson. Waitikiri No.1 Paul McEwan had a 4/3 win. For Avondale it was "oh so close" with a win to Garron Hawker on the last hole, and Paul Webb halving with Scott Sibley, and Paul Costello halving with Harley Crosland.

Thanks go to the Canterbury Golf volunteers and staff, the Canterbury Golf Referees, and to Russley Golf Club for being fine hosts. A special mention to the Interclub Convenors who spent many hours on course through the round-robin matches - Pam Ellis (Pollock Cup), David Silk (Simon Cup), John Brettell (Blank Cup), and John Thompson and Peter MacDonald (Woodward Cup).  



Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Clearwater Golf Club Clearwater Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative