Follow us on:
Amberley Banner Amberley Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Tai Tapu - Patterson Cup Champions

Posted by: on 21 May 2024

The Patterson Cup Interclub Final was played at Ellesmere Golf Club on Sunday in cold, wintery conditions and the course in great order.

Tai Tapu who were endeavouring to make it quadruple titles for the club played Greendale, who did their level best to spoil their party, with every match going to the final hole before Tai Tapu prevailed in their quest for four consecutive Patterson Cup titles winning 7-2.

In the tightest of contests Jason Blair halved with Chris Faithful; Patrick Fitzgibbon halved with Simon Jeffs; James Ting bt Jevin Nicholls; Derek Watson halved with Peter Bee; Were Tahurangi bt Steve Roulston and Bevin Ryan bt Jamie Camp.
The Tai Tapu team are pictured, from left Were Tahurangi, James Ting, Derek Watson, Jason Blair, Bevin Ryan and Patrick Fitzgibbon.

In the Annual Selwyn vs Peninsula match, in which players are selected from Patterson Cup teams that aren't involved in the Patterson Cup Final, Selwyn won the match 5-3. For Selwyn, Martin Wills, Steve Harrold, Dennis Gibbons, Keegan Wylie and Peter Coutts had wins while Ian Sworn, Chris Robertson and Ricky Hetherington had wins for Peninsula.

Patterson Cup Indivdual honours for the most individual wins throughout the competition were won by Peter Coutts from Lincoln (Trevor Evans Trophy, Selwyn) and and Jason Blair from Tai Tapu (Keith Vogan Trophy, Peninsula). Both players had a perfect 5-from-5 record in round-robin play.  

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Terrace Downs Resort Terrace Downs Resort
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative