Follow us on:
Hagley Banner Hagley Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Woodward Cup Round 2 at Russley

Posted by: on 19 August 2019

Round two of the 2019 Woodward Cup teed off at Russley Golf Club yesterday in fine winter conditions. 

The feature match was Christchurch v Templeton and in the end it proved to be a one-sided result with Christchurch winning 6.5-1.5. Nick Franzmann and Jason Sincock got the ball rolling for Christchurch with 5/4 and 2/1 victories respectively. They were followed with wins to Richard Reed and Mike Toeke. Templeton's only win came from Jordan Latter who beat Marcel Boet 1up while Jordan Bakermans and Todd Gantley halved. Tom Parker and Nic Kay completed the vicotry for Christchurch.

In a minor upset Hororata got their maiden Woodward Cup victory beating Pegasus 4.5-3.5. At the top-of-the-order Dominic Bretkelly produced a dominant display beating Kazuma Kobori 6/5. He was supported by wins to Michael Bailey, Andrew Inch, Al Sime, and a half to Steve Bell. For Pegasus Andrew Green, Shaun Allan, and James Cadenhead had wins while Zach May had the half.

Harewood beat Waitikiri 5-3 with wins to Matt McLean, Josh Smith, Scott Manyweathers, Sam Watkinson, and Daniel Lundt. For Waitikiri Aaron Forsyth prevailed, and Simon Marshall and Geoff Rudduck had big victories at the bottom of the order.

Bottle Lake beat Coringa 5.5-2.5. Cameron Grant, Kieran Sharvin, Alisdair Reid, Steve Dellow, and Jason Campbell had wins for Bottle Lake while Lachie Mackay halved with John Rademakers. Rohan Ware and Liam Beirne were victorious for Coringa.

Hosts Russley were too good for Weedons 5-3. For Russley Taylor Hosking, Michael McAuley, Owen Burgess, Andrew Dufton, and Rod Latham had wins. For Weedons it was William Basings, Bryden Grant and Ben Burgess who came up trumps.  

Round three is at Coringa this coming Sunday with the feature clash being Christchurch versus Russley. 

Click here for Individual Results

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative