Follow us on:
Greendale Banner Greendale Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Woodward Cup - Round 3

Posted by: on 23 July 2018

Round 3 of Woodward Cup was played at Harewood Golf Club yesterday in fine, breezy conditions and the course in great order.

Templeton's playing order changes worked in their favour against hosts Harewood winning 5-3 to stay at the top of the table with Mike Berry defeating Harewood no.1 Matt McLean 2/1 at the top of the order while Ryan Bellamy, James Robb, Greg Hey and Sam Purdon at 8 all registered wins. Scott Manyweathers, Sam Watkinson and Ranui Herangi had wins for Harewood.

The local derby between neighbours Waitikiri and Bottle Lake was a close contest with both teams sharing the points in a 4-4 draw. Bottle Lake's top order fired with Jordan Pruden, Kris O'Neill and Steve Dellow winning their matches together with Kieran Sharvin while Waitikiri's wins came from Aaron Forsyth, Simon Marshall, Steve Bell and Geoff Rudduck having a big 7/5 win.

Defending Champions Russley who are yet to register a win after three rounds were upset by Weedons 4.5-3.5 in a dour battle with three matches going to the penultimate hole and the other match halved between David Kelly and Bryden Grant. For Weedons Anton Fouchee had another strong win at 1 with Jonathan Stieller, Shaun Payne and Andrew Wylie winning their matches while Henry Bryden, Michael McAuley and Taylor Hosking had wins for Russley.

Pegasus maintained their momentum and third placing winning comfortably against Avondale 7-1 with solid wins for Shaun Allen, Peter Brinsdon, Rodney Van Steenis, Phil Stevens, Brandon Parker, Richard Sinclair and Mathew Burns while Hayden Burns at no.1 for Avondale won a tight match against Andrew Green 1 up.

Christchurch continued their good start to the competition to stay at the top of the table with Templeton by defeating a brave Coringa side 4.5-3.5. For Christchurch Mike Toeke, Marcel Boet, Josh Roche, a convincing 8/6 win to Richard Reed and a half for JJ Love against James Howard got them across the line, while import Liam Beirne, John Rademakers and Steven Yang won their matches for Coringa.

Click here for Results

Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Featured Golf Club

Find out more about Templeton Golf Club Templeton Golf Club
Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative