Follow us on:
Everglades Banner Everglades Golf Club Find out more
Back to News

Woodward & Pollock Cups - Round 5

Posted by: on 16 September 2019

Round five of the Woodward and Pollock Cups were held yesterday at Harewood and Russley respectively in sunny, cool conditions but a bit damp underfoot after early morning rain.

Woodward Cup

Unbeaten Harewood had the home advantage against Russley but the current champions got into their work quickly with Hayato Miya and Regan Kilpatrick having big wins at the top of the order, while Hamish Kerr, Michael McAuley, Owen Burgess, Jacob Roberts and Andrew Dufton finished the job to win decisively 7-1 with Matt McLean registering Harewood's sole win.

Christchurch's top order of Jordan Bakermans, Nic Kay, Mike Toeke and Richard Reed set the platform for their win against Waitikiri with matches further down the order being very close with Waitikiri's Antony Dale, Woo Bong Kim and Simon Marshall all winning before Nick Franzmann got the important win for Christchurch to remain unbeaten.

Pegasus versus Bottle Lake was always going to be an arm wrestle and it proved just that, although the the 7-1 scoreline wasn't a true reflection of the game with two matches going to the wire and another to the penultimate hole. For Pegasus, Andrew Green, Shaun Allan, Kazuma Kobori, James Cadenhead, Zach May, Rodney Van Steenis and Mike Taylor had wins while Lachie Mackay registered Bottle Lake's only win. 

Templeton's 6-2 win against Hororata was also a lot closer than the final result showed, with four matches going down the 18th. Templeton's wins came from Sam Purdon, Jordon Latter, Ryan Bellamy, Rhys Wilson, Greg Hey and Josh Simpson while Owen Miller and Michael Bailey won tight matches for Hororata.

Weedons registered their first win for the season 5.5-2.5 against Coringa, with more very close matches making the difference with three matches going to the 17th and a halved match between John Gaw and James Metzger. James Howard and Mike Toal had wins for Coringa with Austin Hamilton, Alex Van Schaardenburg, Jonathan Stieller, Ben Burgess and Andrew Wylie sealing the win for Weedons

Click here for Full Results

The next double rounds are at Christchurch on 29 September, with the Representative fixture, Canterbury playing Aorangi next Sunday.


Pollock Cup

In a day of some decisive wins, Harewood defeated Weedons 4.5-1.5. Catherine Knight, Rachel Eder, Pam McTaggart, Lynn Brand and a half to Anne Dick against Virginia Faass provided Harewood's points while Sarah Lurajud had a win for Weedons.

After hard matches in the first three rounds, Waitikiri kept their semi final chances alive with a move up the table from a decisive 5-1 win over Pegasus. For Waitikiri Danielle Price, Ginny Bolderston, Fiona Wallace, Lynley Watts and Chris Marple all had wins with Amy Weng winning at the top of the order for Pegasus.

Christchurch continued their winning way with a 5-1 defeat of Waimairi Beach who have yet to open their account on the points table. Jana Beneke won a tough match against Melissa Newburn for Waimairi Beach's only win, while Catherine Bell and Olive Tapu just got home on the 18th against Angela Gerken and Kate Turner. Nicola Webb, Marg-Mary Coughlan and Mel Brew completed the win for Christchurch with decisive victories.

Click here for Full Results

Round 6 will be at Pegasus on 29 September.



Contact Us

Phone: (03) 359 4000


Physical Address:
375 McLeans Island Road, Harewood

Postal Address:
P.O Box 39014, Harewood, Christchurch 8545

Growing and Supporting Golf in Canterbury

© Copyright Canterbury Golf 2024   |   Website design by Plato Creative